BBL Will Only Play 43 Games Starting In 2024–2025

From the 2024–2025 season, the Big Bash League  (BBL) will include 43 games instead of the current 48. A new seven-year domestic broadcasting agreement Cricket Australia reached with Foxtel Group and Seven West Media includes the overhaul.

According to CA, the new agreement’s lower BBL content makes room for increased player availability, a greater proportion of prime-time matches, and stronger alignment with school holidays.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Renegades, BBL
Image Credits: Twitter

BBL To Reduce To 43 Games From 61

The BBL has subsequently grown to 61 games, along with a playoffs series of five matches, from the previous 43 games (including three post-league matchups) in the 2017–18 season. Given that the top Australian players for the national team hardly ever participated in the domestic T20 league, the tournament’s length has attracted criticism.

Following the conclusion of the New Year’s Test, David Warner (Sydney Thunder) and Steve Smith (Sydney Sixers) will play in the league’s continuing season, although many international players will leave for the SA20 and ILT20 tournaments. With the modification in the upcoming seasons, the league aims to prevent it.

BBL 2021-22 Final
BBL 2021-22 Final, Image Source: Twitter

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

New Deal Worth AUD 1.5 Billion Agreed

The new broadcast agreement, worth AUD 1.5 billion, was agreed and will last from mid-2024 through the conclusion of the 2030–31 season. The current six-year agreement was purchased by Seven and Foxtel for AUD 1.18 billion in 2018, displacing the Nine Network, which had owned the rights for a little more than 40 years.

Nevertheless, since 2020, Seven and CA have been at odds over programming, with the broadcaster intending to terminate the current contract and initiating a lawsuit in June before the Federal Court of Australia. Because of the perceived decline in quality in the BBL, the nation’s domestic T20 competition, Seven has also promised to stop using CA as part of this deal renewal, which now runs until 2031.

The Adelaide Oval
Image Credits: Twitter

Seven announced on Tuesday that it would pay AUD 65 million annually under the new agreement, a 13% decrease from the previous one, and would save AUD 50 million in cash overall as a result of lower fees and operational expenses.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Sanju Samson Dropped From ODI Squad On Rohit Sharma’s Call, Selectors Wanted To Go Ahead With Sanju Over KL Rahul: Sources

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

#BBL #Play #Games #Starting


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening matches…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin of…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla National…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the contest….

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture of…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament opener….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *