Meet the Orange Cap Holder of the WPL after the first match

At the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, two powerhouse teams, Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians squared off in the Women’s IPL’s first game. Mumbai Indians destroyed the Giants in the first game of the competition, defeating Gujarat by an enormous score of 143 runs. After winning the toss, the Gujarat Giants decided to field first.

But everything went downhill for the Giants after winning the toss as the Mumbai Indians posted a huge total of 207 runs on the board. As Yatsika Bhatia got out very early, Hayley Mathews played a strong offensive innings, scoring 47 runs off of 31 balls. But, Harmanpreet Kaur stole the spotlight with her brilliant batting performance. In her 65-run, 30-ball inning, she played several magnificent shots that helped her score runs all over the field.

She executed some stunning cover drives and swept the ball from fine leg to mid-wicket. Without sparing any bowlers, the captain struck boundaries off seven consecutive deliveries. Mumbai Indians scored 207 runs thanks to cameos from Amelia Kerr (45 not out off 24 deliveries) and Pooja Vastrakar (15 off 8).

None of the Gujarat Giants batters got going. Only two of the batters could score more than 10 runs in the match. They were bundled out for just 64 runs. To make things even more miserable for them, the skipper Beth Mooney got injured in the first over. 

Orange Cap Holder

With her score of 65, Harmanpreet Kaur holds the Orange Cap after the first game. Hayley Mathews is at the second position with 47 runs followed by Amelia Kerr at third. (45 runs)

The Indian Premier League’s (IPL) Orange  Cap is awarded to the player who scores the most runs in the tournament. It is passed from one batter to another as the IPL’s group stage proceeds. At the conclusion of the competition, it is eventually given to the batter with the most runs.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

#Meet #Orange #Cap #Holder #WPL #match


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening matches…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin of…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla National…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the contest….

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture of…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament opener….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *