New Zealand announce 14-man Test squad for home series against England


New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Friday announced their men’s squad for the upcoming Test series against England. For the two Tests, the hosts have included five pacers in the side including Kyle Jamieson.

The 28-year-old all-rounder last played a Test match against England in Nottingham, where he was forced to leave the field due to back injury. Out of action for more than seven months, Jamieson recently played T20 and List A games for Auckland.

Commenting on Jamieson’s return to the squad, head coach Gary Stead said: “Kyle is a very determined character with a strong desire to play international cricket for New Zealand.

“Since he was forced from the field in Nottingham, he’s been very clear that he wants to get his body right to return.”

Stead added: “He’s reported good progress since his return to professional cricket with Auckland and he will get the opportunity to play some long form cricket as part of the New Zealand XI Squad to face England in their warm-up match next week at Seddon Park.”

Ish Sodhi, who had a good outing on the tour of Pakistan, was also picked in the 14-member squad with all-rounder Michael Bracewell as the other spin-bowling option.

On Sodhi’s inclusion, Stead said: “Ish really impressed us with his approach with bat and ball. He’s worked very hard on both in recent years and it was great to see that on the international Test stage.”

The first Test between New Zealand and England will be a pink-ball day-night encounter at the Bay Oval in Tauranga from February 16 to 20. The second Test is scheduled at Wellington’s Cello Basin Reserve from February 24-28.

New Zealand squad for England Tests:

Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

#Zealand #announce #14man #Test #squad #home #series #England


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

[ad_1] Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

[ad_1] MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

[ad_1] An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

[ad_1] UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the…

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

[ad_1] Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

[ad_1] The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *