New Zealand announce a new-look Test squad for Pakistan tour


New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Thursday named their men’s squad for the upcoming two-Test tour of Pakistan. Both the matches will be part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship (WTC)

Earlier in the day, the Black Caps revealed that Tim Southee will take over from Kane Williamson as New Zealand Test captain and Tom Latham will assist him in the red-ball format. However, Williamson will continue to lead New Zealand in ODIs and T20Is.

Southee’s first assignment as skipper will come in Pakistan over the New Year. The Kiwis will play 2 Tests and 3 ODIs in Pakistan from December 26 to January 13.

Southee will lead a new-look squad that will be without fellow quicks Trent Boult (unavailable) and Kyle Jamieson (back injury), with leg-spinner Ish Sodhi (recalled after 4 years), middle-order batter Glenn Phillips and uncapped pacer Blair Tickner among the players included.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead is looking forward to the Pakistan tour and believes his team can perform well.

“It’s going to be a new experience and the kind of challenge that excites this group,” Stead said in his official statement.

“We’ve naturally been keeping an eye on the current Test series against England, particularly the last two Tests of the series held in Multan and Karachi, where we will play.

“This series will be the first for Tim Southee as Test captain and together we’re both looking forward to getting into our work for the tour.”

The first Test kicks-off in Karachi on December 26, with the second game taking place in Multan from January 3.

New Zealand Test squad:

Tim Southee (captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

#Zealand #announce #newlook #Test #squad #Pakistan #tour


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

[ad_1] Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

[ad_1] MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

[ad_1] An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

[ad_1] UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the…

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

[ad_1] Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

[ad_1] The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *