‘Teams like New Zealand and South Africa should be banned…’: Kamran Akmal backs India to win an ICC Trophy


Former Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Akmal advocated for India despite their poor run in International Cricket Council (ICC) events and opined that teams like New Zealand and South Africa should be banned since they have hardly won in ICC tournaments.

Notably, India won their last ICC championship way back in 2013 in the form of Champions Trophy under the leadership of legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni and haven’t won a single major trophy ever since.

However, the Men in Blue in the last year’s ICC T20 World Cup made it to the semis but were knocked out by the eventual tournament champions, England.

Talking about India’s impotence in winning the knockout games at the grand stage, Pakistan veteran Akmal appreciated the Indian team citing that championships shouldn’t be the criterion to judge a team.

“People talk about India having not won an ICC event for 10 years. You can’t win every ICC event. And if winning an ICC trophy is the only criterion then teams like New Zealand and South Africa should be banned since they haven’t won any. So this is just a pick. India is a great team and is playing at a different level,” said Akmal on Paktv.tv.

South Africa, to date, have only won a single ICC trophy which they bagged way back in 1998 when they clinched the inaugural edition of the Champions Trophy (then known as Knockout Trophy). Meanwhile, New Zealand have two titles, one ICC Knockout Trophy 2000 and another the maiden World Test Championship 2021, under Stephen Fleming and Kane Williamson’s leadership, respectively.

On the other hand, India has all the major ICC championships in their cabinet, including the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 ODI World Cup and the 2013 Champions Trophy. India brought all these laurels under the captainship of the most decorated skipper of all time, Dhoni.

India also has a perfect chance to add one more title to the list and rewrite history as they will host the upcoming 50-over World Cup this year in October-November.

#Teams #Zealand #South #Africa #banned #Kamran #Akmal #backs #India #win #ICC #Trophy


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

[ad_1] Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

[ad_1] MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

[ad_1] An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

[ad_1] UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the…

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

[ad_1] Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

[ad_1] The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *