Twitter reactions: Shubman Gill’s dazzling ton propels India to series-clinching win over New Zealand


Team India thrashed New Zealand in the third and final T20I at the iconic Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium on Wednesday. With the victory, the hosts also clinched the three-match series 2-1.

Batting first, India posted a humungous 234/4 on the board in their allotted 20 overs, thanks to a jaw-dropping knock from opener Shubman Gill. The swashbuckling batter produced an incredible display of power-hitting and hit his maiden T20I hundred.

Gill reached his century in merely 54 balls to become the seventh Indian man to reach the three-figure mark in the shortest format. India captain Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, KL Rahul, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, and Virat Kohli had earlier slammed centuries in T20Is.

Overall, Gill became only the fifth Indian to score hundreds in all three formats for India, after Raina, Rohit, Rahul and Kohli. Gill also carried his bat and remained unbeaten on 126 off 63 deliveries, including 12 fours and 7 sixes. Apart from the Punjab batter, Rahul Tripathi also played a quickfire knock of 44 from 22 deliveries.

In response, New Zealand’s batting fell like a pack of cards as the tourists got bundled out for just 66 in 12.1 overs, losing the contest by a huge margin of 168 runs. India skipper Hardik Pandya shined with the ball, picking up a brilliant 4-wicket haul for 16 runs in his quota of 4 overs.

Biggest margin of win in a T20I between two Full Member teams:

  • 168 runs: India vs New Zealand, Ahmedabad 2023 *
  • 143 runs: India vs Ireland, Dublin 2018
  • 143 runs: Pakistan vs West Indies, Karachi 2018
  • 137 runs: England vs West Indies, Basseterre 2019

Here is how Twitter reacted:

#Twitter #reactions #Shubman #Gills #dazzling #ton #propels #India #seriesclinching #win #Zealand


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

[ad_1] Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

[ad_1] MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

[ad_1] An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

[ad_1] UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the…

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

[ad_1] Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

[ad_1] The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *