Why KL Rahul And Axar Patel Are Not Part Of India’s Squads


The BCCI, on Friday, announced multiple squads for the white-ball series of New Zealand and for the first two Tests against Australia. However, there were a couple of noticeable misses from the squads that were announced for the ODI and T20I series against New Zealand. Notably, Axar Patel and KL Rahul were not picked in either of the white-ball squads by the BCCI.

Team India is all set to play against New Zealand in a three-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series, after the conclusion of the ODI series against Sri Lanka. The ODI series will commence on January 18 followed by the T20I series. Both, Axar Patel and KL Rahul are a part of the Indian ODI squad that is currently playing against Sri Lanka.

Axar Patel
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Reason Revealed Behind Axar Patel’s And KL Rahul’s Absence From India Squad for New Zealand Series:

As mentioned, the BCCI, on Friday announced the ODI and T20I squad for the series against New Zealand. While Hardik Pandya will continue to lead team India in the shortest format, Rohit Sharma will be back for the ODIs. There was no clarity given by the BCCI as to why Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli weren’t picked for the T20 squad.

KL Rahul & Hardik Pandya
KL Rahul & Hardik Pandya. Pic Credits: Twitter.

However, the BCCI categorically mentioned the absence of both Axar Patel and KL Rahul. The BCCI, in a tweet, stated, “KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for the New Zealand Home series due to family commitments”

The home series against New Zealand will commence on January 18 with the first ODI of the series being played at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad. It will be followed by a couple of ODIs at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh Stadium in Raipur and the Holkar Stadium in Indore respectively.

India T20 Squad vs New Zealand
India T20 Squad vs New Zealand

The T2OI series against the Blackcaps will commence on January 27 with the 3 T20Is being played in Ranchi, Lucknow, and Ahmedabad. The series will be followed by the Border-Gavaskar trophy, for which the Indian squad for the First 2 Tests was also announced on Friday.

#Rahul #Axar #Patel #Part #Indias #Squads


Related Posts

Women change the fortune of Mumbai Indians in the opening encounter

[ad_1] Mumbai Indians have an unwanted record in the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma-led IPL team, despite winning the league multiple times, has hardly won the opening…

“What A Start To The WPL”- Twitter Reacts As Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Giants In First WPL 2023 Game

[ad_1] MI Women registered a resounding victory over Gujarat Giants (GG) in the opening fixture of WPL 2023. MI Women won the match by a whooping margin…

Twitter reactions: Jason Roy, bowlers steer England to series-clinching win over Bangladesh

[ad_1] An incredible hundred from explosive opener Jason Roy and an all-round effort from Sam Curran propelled England to dominating win in the second ODI at Sher-e-Bangla…

UPW vs GG Dream 11 Prediction: WPL 2023 Match 3 UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Dream11 Team Tips for Today’s WPL Match

[ad_1] UP Warriorz are set to face Gujarat Giants in the third game of WPL. Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai will be the venue for the…

WPL 2023: Only The Physio Will Have That Information

[ad_1] Beth Mooney-led Gujarat Giants did not have the start the franchise were looking for as the franchise were thrashed by Mumbai Indians in the opening fixture…

WPL 2023: TV channels, live streaming details – Where to watch in India, Australia, US, UK & other countries

[ad_1] The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will start on March 4 with Mumbai Indians (MI) squaring off with Gujarat Giants in the tournament…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *